Spiritual Sunday: Building a Strong Foundation

If you’re a Christian, you’re likely to be familiar with this scripture:

I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well built. But anyone who hears and doesn’t obey is like a person who builds a house without a foundation. When the floods sweep down against that house, it will collapse into a heap of ruins. -Luke 6:47-49

For a long time, I was the latter of these two types of people. Though I had heard of God’s will, I still chose to build my life based on one idea of this world or another. Sometimes I built my house based on an intimate relationship, putting my significant other at the center of my world. Or maybe I built it around my friends, focusing on being the kind of person I thought would fit in with others. Other times I’ve built it on personal desires: to get ahead financially, to live longer, and yes, to have a family.

And yet so many times, my house has collapsed to ruins. When we build up our house around our spouse or our children, for example, not only are we putting the weight of our world on their shoulders, but if something happens to them–sickness, death, divorce–what happens to our home? It shakes, cracks, and crumbles to pieces. Our hearts become homeless.

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of building and rebuilding my house, time and again, just to watch it fall to pieces. So several months ago, I started building my home on a solid foundation. This time, I’m building it around God and the one whom he sent to us, Jesus Christ. Through reading the Bible and prayer, I’m creating a stronger relationship with God on which I can build my home. For with God as my foundation, my home will never fall. Even if the world around me crumbles to ruin, my house will stand firm.

Keep in mind that Satan is the “floodwaters,” and that he won’t make it easy. But it will be worth it.

I hope that you will join in me in making your foundation deep and solid on God’s word.

Thanks for reading today.
2 Comments on “Spiritual Sunday: Building a Strong Foundation”

  1. Amen Sister! Well said. I can relate to this and I confess it often comes and goes with me, the battle between the spiritual walk and the worldly one. I wrote about that recently in my post “Pushing aside the world”
    Yet His word rings true…If the foundation is built on faith the house remain strong though the waves smash us. Great post! Hope you are well šŸ™‚

    • Laura says:

      Thank you for sharing that! It’s a tough world to compete with, but one day, the world as we know it will end, and paradise will begin for Christians… I just remind myself whose side I want to be on. šŸ˜‰ Blessings to you, Sister!


Leave a Reply

