Spiritual Sunday: Is God Searching for You?

I absolutely love this verse:

For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him.

-2 Chronicles 16:9 (NKJV)

In this section of 2 Chronicles, we learn that King Asa had stopped being loyal to God. He started looking for help elsewhere. He became stubborn and turned away from God, and so God turned from him. Even when he became ill, he sought doctors for healing instead of God.

And in the thirty-ninth year of his reign, Asa became diseased in his feet, and his malady was severe; yet in his disease he did not seek the Lord, but the physicians.
So Asa rested with his fathers; he died in the forty-first year of his reign.
-2 Chronicles 16:12-13
I know there are many times in my life where I have thought I had the answers. Or if I didn’t, I could find the answers myself. I’d Google it. I am smart and capable, I told myself. I still like to believe I am both of those things, but the key to real knowledge is wisdom. And the Bible has much to say about being wise.
Listen to my instruction and be wise; do not disregard it.
-Proverbs 8:33 (NIV)
Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord and shun evil.
-Proverbs 3:7 (NIV)
Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight.
Isaiah 5:21 (NIV)
God wants us to be wise, but he doesn’t mean we need to know it all. It’s quite the opposite. God wants us to rely on him and his word for the answers to our struggles.
Thus the children of Israel were brought under at that time, and the children of Judah prevailed, because they relied upon the Lord God of their fathers.
-2 Chronicles 13:18 (KJV)
And as for King Asa, well…
And at that time Hanani the seer came to Asa king of Judah, and said unto him,
Because thou hast relied on the king of Syria, and not relied on the Lord thy God, therefore is the host of the king of Syria escaped out of thine hand.
-2 Chronicles 16:7 (KJV)
Now when we look back at that first quote I mentioned, 2 Chronicles 16:9, it begins to make sense. God is searching the earth, looking it over carefully, for those who choose to rely on him. Those are his people. Those are the wise ones. He cares about and loves each one of us, but he will “show himself strong” to “those whose heart is loyal to Him.” Think of it this way, which kind of person would you be more inclined to help, someone who tells you “I’ve got this! I can do it on my own.” or someone who says, “I can’t do it without you.”
If you are willing, say a quick prayer with me:
God, help me to humble my heart so that I can be wise to rely on you in all things.
Thanks for reading today. Feel free to share a way God has touched your heart this week in the comments below.
5 Comments on “Spiritual Sunday: Is God Searching for You?”

  1. Humiity and willingness to ask for help are wonderful traits that require a person to have a certain kind of strength.
    I like the new picture you have at the top of the page.

  2. beautiful words, I’m glad I read this today, we are going through some difficult times but my husband is so supportive and encouraging in everything, glad I can rely on him and on God too. “God wants us to rely on him and his word for the answers to our struggles” thank you

    • Laura says:

      Oh girl, I’m so glad this was helpful to you. It’s amazing how God tends to point us in the right direction when he sees us struggle. Hang in there. I’ll say a prayer for you and whatever you’re struggling with right now!! ❤


Leave a Reply

