How to Reuse Christmas Cards

One of my favorite gifts at Christmastime is all of the beautiful Christmas cards that come in the mail. Whether it’s the traditional store-bought card that is sold in bulk, or a handpicked Hallmark, or the popular photo card created online, I love seeing all of the beautiful Christmas depictions and reading the warm wishes of the season. I merrily display each one in my home.

But what do I do with them after Christmas? There are too many to keep year after year, and while I love receiving cards, I rarely hold onto but a precious few. I know it’s a bit morbid, but part of me wonders, “What on earth would my boys do with a thousand old Christmas cards after we die and they inherit every little item in our home?” So I throw them out.

This year, I decided to do something special with the Christmas cards. I wanted to give them a new life and value, after their purpose had already been fulfilled. I reused them. I turned this year’s Christmas greeting cards into next year’s homemade Christmas gift tags.

How to Reuse Christmas Cards: Homemade Christmas Gift Tags

You need:

  • Christmas cards
  • scissors
  • tape
  • card stock
  • hole punch

And then:

  1. Cut up the Christmas cards into small, usable pieces. For example, cut out Santa’s face or a Christmas tree or the snowman in the background. There is no rhyme or reason other than what appeals to you.
  2. Tape each piece onto a piece of card stock.
  3. Use the hole punch to make a hole in each gift tag.
  4. That’s it! Now you have beautiful, homemade gift tags ready to attach with a ribbon onto next year’s Christmas gifts! And your Christmas cards have been given new life.

(See photos below for an example of the process!)

Christmas cards, destined for the trash can post-Christmas.

Christmas cards, destined for the trashcan post-Christmas.

After cutting the useful pieces from the cards.

After cutting the useful pieces from the cards.

The finished gift tag!

The finished gift tag!

 

Beautiful gift tags, ready for a ribbon and a label.

Beautiful gift tags, ready for a ribbon and a label.

What do you do with the cards you receive? It’s also worth noting that you can do this with birthday cards, Valentine’s cards, etc!

10 Comments on “How to Reuse Christmas Cards”

  1. missbellanoel says:

    What a neat idea!!! I have never thought of that. Usually I end up throwing away old cards but this is such a great way to re-purpose old cards!

  2. Chris says:

    What agreat idea! I am doing this;)

  3. Fabulous! This is a wonderful idea. I love Christmas cards and this is a great way to recycle. You are so clever.

  4. Emma says:

    Fantastic idea, Laura. This never occurred to me. I’m all over the recycling idea. And the added creativity is appealing. I love it.


Leave a Reply

