Spiritual Sunday: If It Moves You, Share It.

I have always believed in God and in the Bible, but I haven’t always felt close to God. I know that for me, it’s always been easier in hard times to turn to God than it has been when things are going well. Until recently, God was like a distant relative that I only spoke to when something came up worth mentioning. AKA, when I needed his help. “Oh, hey God, did you hear what happened to me? What should I do about it?” Nobody truly benefits from that kind of relationship. Just like my relationship with my spouse and children, my spiritual relationship takes time to develop. It takes effort. It takes reading the Bible and prayer. The Bible tells us that our spiritual relationship is a two-way street:

Draw close to God, and he will draw close to you. -James 4:8

I’m not to a place yet where I am satisfied with my relationship with God, but I’m working on it. I’m reading the Bible (almost) every day. I am praying more often. I’m putting forth the effort. But I have a long way to go.

One of the verses that stuck out at me this week was from the Psalms. It spoke to me in a way that moved me, and a little voice somewhere inside me said to share it with you:

I have told all your people about your justice.

I have not been afraid to speak out, as you, O Lord, well know.

I have not kept the good news of your justice hidden in my heart;

I have talked about your faithfulness and saving power.

I have told everyone in the great assembly of your unfailing love and faithfulness. –Psalms 40:9-10

I’m not a preacher.

I’m not a Bible scholar.

I’m just a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a believer in God and his word, and a writer. I want to share the things that move me. I would love to hear stories, scriptures, or thoughts that have moved you throughout the week too. No matter your religious preference or beliefs. Anything spiritual goes.

If something has moved you this week, feel free to leave a comment or a link to your own post and share it with us.

Thanks for reading today.

4 Comments on “Spiritual Sunday: If It Moves You, Share It.”

  1. I have recently been moved by the Psalm that talks about being able to “hide beneath the shadow of your [God’s] wings.” It’s such a beautiful picture of the protection and safety that we can find in our Creator. I’ve found this especially encouraging going through the last few months.

    You are so right – It’s so important to remain faithful in our prayer and scripture reading when we don’t feel close to God. Because it’s those things that help bring us back to that close relationship again. Beautiful post.


Leave a Reply

