Catching Up

The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of fun, adventure, and feeling overwhelmingly busy (yes, even for a stay-at-home mom!), so I haven’t had a chance to post much lately. I wanted to give you all a glimpse of what our little family has going on to help you all catch up! I’ll do it mostly through pictures, because… well, it’s just cuter that way.

We had Halloween last Wednesday, which was a success in my eyes, because we got our oldest son to go to more than four houses this year (it was the smallest, saddest little bag of Halloween candy I’d ever seen last year). While I don’t normally condone my son talking to strangers, I do see Halloween as an opportunity to be social to our neighbors, to get a little glimpse into their homes as they welcome you at their door. It’s a night of trust when there seems to be less and less of that in our communities. And I’m happy to be a part of it. Plus, my boys looked pretty darn cute this year.

SWAT Team dude and a fat little tiger!

 

Two days after Halloween, we celebrated my five-year-old becoming a SIX-year-old! We had a nice little party at home for him on his birthday last Friday, and then we spent the next day at Dave and Buster’s restaurant and at the movies seeing Wreck-It-Ralph with our family. He had a BLAST. I feel so blessed that this smart, funny, sweet little boy made me a mom six years ago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This week, we are preparing for an event of a lifetime. We got a call last week letting us know that my boys who had entered an art contest for the local chapter of the CF Foundation had WON the contest!! The prize was tickets for our family to attend the big black tie gala, benefitting the CFF! We are getting dressed in our best this Friday night, and we will not only be attending the gala with cocktails, a seated dinner, and live music and dancing, but we will get to go on stage while they auction off my boys’ artwork for the charity! It is such an honor, and we are all super excited about it. A family who is near and dear to our hearts not only purchased tickets for their family to attend the gala with us, but they rented us a night’s stay in the hotel where the gala is being held! My sister-in-law has also graciously agreed to come to the hotel and watch our boys for us after the event, so that my husband and I can enjoy the after-party with our dear friends. We are so blessed. This is truly going to be a night to remember, all because of my two very special boys.

This picture will be printed in the event’s program!

This picture of our little one getting his daily nebulizer treatment (and big bro giving him some loving support!) will be featured on big screen/slideshow during the event! I mean, seriously, they are just precious.

Phew! So much going on, and with the holidays approaching, things just keep getting busier! I try to take a minute or two every day to “catch up,” be thankful, and just breathe. I hope you are able to do the same. 🙂

 

9 Comments on “Catching Up”

  1. Q T Pies! I have always been a stay home mom and always been busy! It is a myth that we sit around all day watching movies and eating doritos. Sounds like you have been enjoying all the perks of being a parent.

  2. Lots of good things – great. That’s great that the children won the art contest.
    My younger boy is turning 6 on Sat.

  3. Congrats on your boy winning the art contest! 🙂 you must be so proud! and hope you guys will have a wonderful family-friends time this coming Friday at the gala after-party! 🙂

  4. […] my son won a recent art contest, we received admittance to a black tie gala benefitting the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. At first, I […]


Leave a Reply

