Easy Family Game Night Idea: What Am I Building?

Does your family have a “family game night?” We didn’t have a game night often when I was a child, but I remember absolutely loving the few times that we did. Maybe I loved it because it was a rare occasion. Maybe I loved it because it was a chance to sit at the table, face to face with my mom and dad and little sister, and just play a simple game. Don’t get me wrong, we were always going fun places and doing fun things as a family when I was a child, but there is something that I have always loved about game nights.

Now that I have my own family, we play games often. We don’t have a specific day of the week that we play, but whenever it strikes our fancy. And in our home, game night isn’t limited to conventional board games. We make up our own games too. My son loves having the control of creating his own game for us to play, making up the rules, and then getting to explain it so that I can understand how to play (and I ask a lot of questions to make sure I have it straight… and that he doesn’t change the rules and “cheat”). ;)We played this particular game yesterday after school, and I wanted to share it with you, although I can not take credit for the game… It was all my son’s idea!

How to Play “What Am I Building?”:

You need:

-Blocks of any kind! (we have a ton of small Lego blocks, but with a newly mobile baby, we have gotten out the Mega Blocks again. It’s perfect, because the baby can play with and chew on his own set of blocks while we build!)

How To Play:

-Taking turns, one person builds an object out of the blocks while the other person guesses what is being built.

-If the other person needs help with guessing, the builder can offer clues.

-If the person who is guessing guesses correctly, they get a point!

-If the person who is guessing can not determine what the other person is building, they can give up by saying, “I give up,” but the builder then gets the point.

 

That’s pretty much it! Even though it is super easy, I love that it involves fine motor skills and creative thinking. It is also refreshingly simple (don’t the games with a million rules and exceptions give you a headache sometimes??), but you can add different variations on the game like keeping it to a certain theme (i.e. animals, buildings, etc) or adding a timer. I preferred my son’s way of keeping it open-ended. A game of endless possibilities. 😉

Here are some of my favorites that we built:

A flower (by Mommy)

An alligator (by Son)

A dog (by Mommy)

A wall (by Son)

 

Have fun!

 

**I’m linking today’s post with the Weekly Kid’s Co-Op! Click here to find so many more fun and creative kid-friendly ideas and activities! Or link up something of your own by following the directions once you’ve clicked over. Enjoy, and thanks for reading!**

 

17 Comments on “Easy Family Game Night Idea: What Am I Building?”

  1. I love playing games with my little family too. Love your son’s creativity with this game!

  2. It sounds like a cool game. My kids love to build stuff it just might work in our household.

  3. muddledmom says:

    Sounds a lot like my family. We are always playing games. And sometimes we make them up too. We even play a version of your Lego game!

  4. chrsitina says:

    We’ve done game nights for years… amazing what you learn when you just let the kids talk…

  5. Wow! your son is very creative! 🙂 love family games too!

  6. Visiting from the Hop! I LOVE game night. We had many as a kid and still play games when we get together. Now that my little ones are getting old enough to play board games like Life and Monopoly it has been fun getting them involved as well!

  7. Dianty says:

    I love this idea that game night can be easy/simple!

  8. […] is another fun idea for a family game night. Like the last post about game nights, I didn’t come up with this idea. But it was so much fun for the adults and kids alike that I […]


Leave a Reply

