Munchkin Meals: Homemade Rice Cereal for Baby

I am so excited about this post! My friend at The Concrete Runner has participated in Munchkin Meals via A Healthy Slice of Life several times, and I love reading about all the healthy and yummy foods that other mamas are feeding their babies. After our clinic visit on Monday, we got the go-ahead from our little five-month-old’s dietician to start some solid foods! Woo-Hoo! It’s such a big milestone, and I am ready and excited for him. Mostly because I know he is ready. I can’t eat or drink anything while holding him without his eyes getting as big as an owl’s and him grabbing at whatever he can get his hands on. It’s time for him to have his own meals!

We start simple, with a rice cereal. I bought the typical Gerber rice cereal, and I love it, because it’s iron-fortified and easy. However, I did all the Gerber stuff before with my first son, and this time around, I really want to make some of the baby foods myself. Especially since I stay at home now and have more time to do so!

So I found a recipe forΒ brown rice cereal for babies, and I just cut the portion down a bit so that it would fit in my handy little silicone freezer trays. Aren’t these the best?

They were given to me by a friend, but you can find them here at Casabella.com. They are perfect for making big ice cubes for punch bowls, brownie bites, or freezing baby food portions. I’d say each cube is about 1.5 oz in portion size, and the food pops out so easily! Oh, and they are dishwasher safe. Love!

Here’s the way I prepared the homemade rice cereal:

  • 2 cups brown rice, cooked
  • 8oz formula (you can also use breast milk or water. I am breastfeeding, but I have a terrible time pumping, so he nurses mostly with occasional formula supplements.)

Add cooked brown rice and formula to a blender. (I love my Ninja blender/food processor combo!) Puree until as smooth as possible. Pour into ice cube trays. Freeze overnight. Pop each portion out of the trays once completely frozen, and seal in a Ziploc bag labeled with the date. Can be kept frozen for up to two months. When ready to serve, take one portion (or two, depending on portion sizes and how much your little one eats) and defrost the cubes. Add more water, formula, or breast milk until you reach the desired consistency, and you can warm it up if your baby doesn’t like it cold.

 

Frozen

Defrosted, formula added, and ready to eat!

One whole block is a LOT for my little guy just starting out, and I didn’t realize until afterwards that you can slice each cube in half or even thirds, depending on how much your little one can eat. I hate to waste food! (You live, you learn.) You can also add fruits or veggies to this cereal for extra flavor and nutrients. Since we are just starting out on the solids, we keep it plain for now. He still nurses 6-7 times a day, and gets one serving of rice cereal (either this homemade version or the Gerber brand) for his supper.

So, how did he like it? It was still a little bit chunky, so I steered away from the bigger chunks of rice when spoon-feeding him. Otherwise, he did just fine!

Lots of “Mmm”s while he was eating his Mama’s first homemade baby food!

I can’t wait to start adding new foods to his diet! Keep visiting Munchkin Meals every other Thursday for more deliciously healthy baby and toddler foods! Thanks for visiting!

What are some of your baby’s first favorite foods? Do you make your own baby foods, use store-bought baby foods, or a combo of both?

10 Comments on “Munchkin Meals: Homemade Rice Cereal for Baby”

  1. He is so cute! πŸ™‚ looks adorable!

  2. Laura says:

    What a great idea to make your own brown rice cereal! I’ll have to remember that if we have a second. Love those silicone trays, too… we made a lot of our baby food too and now I can’t even remember what I froze them in… ice cube trays maybe?

    • Thank you! It’s a new adventure for me, that’s for sure, but I’m having fun with it. πŸ™‚ Ice cube trays work good too, I’ve heard. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. arzea says:

    Yum Yum πŸ™‚

  4. Hey I was reading the ingredients of some of these Gerber cereals and they contain ingredients that may be genetically modified (GMO)

    Check out the articles on my website about GMO. Do a search with the search bar on the right.

    Hope this helps.

  5. I’m glad they are working out for you. We actually had a set of smaller ones for Marc to start with (about half the size- I believe they were 1oz Anabelle- feezer trays?) but, I have no clue what ended up happening to them with all the moving.

    You can really boil the heck out of rice until its basically creamy, then blend it up with formula/ breats milk to a rice porridge consistency. We fed Victoria a lot of Jok– thai rice soup- with super tiny chicken bits, of course she was a little older. The best thing about home made baby food is that you can make it just right for your little guy. Put exactly how much of whatever you want in it (salt- in Ben’s case), herbs, and make plenty of their favorite with twists. Marc absolutely loved sweet potato and pumpkin puree. I loved the 1 oz trays because I was able to mix up his favorites– 1 oz of sweet potatoe– with 1 oz of apple, or squash, or carrot, etc….

    And as he got older I could take a pre spiced version of whatever we were eating, blend it up to a desired consistency and freeze.

    Anyways, enjoy! I absultely loved it and its so much easier than most people realize.

    • That is a great idea about the over-boiling the rice, Kelli!! It didn’t even occur to me as an option… You can tell I’m new at this. πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for all the advice. I need all that I can get! And you’re absolutely right about the customizing the foods for specific needs. More fat and protein are good for him too. I’ve never cooked with Quinoa before… I’m going to try that next, because it has more calories and protein, and it’s supposed to be easily digested! All great things for Ben! Wish me luck!!!! πŸ™‚

  6. […] typically start out the day with either rice cereal or a fruit. We have a gorgeous, HUGE pear tree in our backyard, that has produced more fruit this […]


Leave a Reply

