Little Reminders

If I don’t write something down, I’m likely to forget it. If I go to the grocery store for anything more than two or three items, I need a list. If I don’t take a list, you can be sure that by the time I get home, I will discover that I forgot to purchase something crucial. If my huband needs me to do something for him during the day, his best bet is to remind me with a text. If there is an important event coming up, I had better write it on the calendar, or else we will probably be a no-show. I am much more effcient with my daily time management when I make a list of the Five Most Important Things. I can get things accomplished; I just need to write it down.

Lately, I have been trying to keep all of my thoughts positive. My husband and I both tend to be realists, taking things for what they are. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s also not always the best thing. Think of the world from the perspective of a child. A young child believes they can grow up to be an Olympic athlete. A young child believes they can go into outer space and meet an alien. A young child believes they will become the next big pop star. Or a princess. Or an inventor. None of these things are impossible. And yet as adults, we may think that they are unlikely for all but a rare few. And that rare few isn’t us. But the innocence of a child tells us otherwise. We are all born to be optimists, but the world (adults?) has a way of knocking their thoughts down to what seems to be more likely. To our version of reality.

However, I believe in the power of positive thinking. When I remember to think positive, I feel how it effects my life. I feel happier, less stressed, and my good mood tends to rub off on my husband and kids. Positive thinking is a wonderful tool to use, and the more we use it, the more it becomes a habit. With dedicated practice and by simply being conscious of our thoughts, positive thinking can turn a pessimist into an optimist. The power of positive thinking can help our ambitions, goals, and dreams become as big as they were when we were children.

But as I mentioned earlier, I am forgetful. So I left little reminders to myself throughout the house so that as I go about my busy days, I will remember to keep thinking positive.

As a bonus, my husband and son can also read them, so that maybe they will be encouraged to think positive thoughts too.

How do you remind yourself to be positive? Do you leave yourself little notes of encouragement?

9 Comments on “Little Reminders”

  1. I have a two wonderful posters I hang in my house. One talks about being fierce and the other one talks about being beautiful. They are daily reminders of who I really am, even if I don’t always feel that way.

    • closefamilies says:

      You should post them sometime! I would love to see what fierce looks like! 🙂
      “Who I really am, even if I don’t always feel that way…” LOVE that. We all feel like that sometimes.

      • I will take photos and send them to you. One is by Karen Walrond, one of my favorite bloggers and authors. And the other is by artist Kal Barteski. Kal features script art here is her link http://kalbarteski.bigcartel.com/category/prints

      • closefamilies says:

        I checked out the website… very cool stuff! I love the paintings with the star constellations.. I wonder if those are real constellations?? That would make them even better! One of my favorite quotes is, “Shoot for the stars. Even if you miss, you’ll land on the moon.”

  2. I like the note/reminder you have.
    I can empathize with the realist thing. I would put myself in the same category.

    • closefamilies says:

      I think most of us adults are realists. Do you agree that it seems like most young children are optimists? What happens to us?

  3. I like the erasable marker “positive message” on mirrors idea. I am totally going to scoop that idea and incorporate in my home. I like it soo much that I even pinned the “Be your best self” photo onto my inspirational words board. Thank you for linking up to the Empowered Living Tuesday Blog hop. I hope to see you back again each week to share your inspiration and motivational words and idea.

  4. Mary says:

    Great idea, I also write reminders for myself. Thank you for sharing. Best,Mary@diligentnanny.webs.com


Leave a Reply

