Five Minute Friday

Happy Friday!

Lately, I’ve been thinking about ways to challenge myself not just as a wife and mother, but also as an individual. As a writer.  So today, I’m linking up with The Gypsy Mama, Lisa-Jo Baker, for an uninhibited five minutes of writing anything that comes to mind. In college, I loved writing prompts! I sometimes find writing more difficult when the sky is the limit, and some of my best work has come from a specific task. Link up with Lisa-Jo if you would like to join me and a whole lot of really great bloggers!

And…. GO!

It’s not enough to take care of your family, but you have to take care of YOU.

I awoke this morning at 6:30am to a baby fussing over the baby monitor. I walked upstairs, dragged myself upstairs, really, to comfort him and keep him from waking up his big brother. I made his applesauce and enzyme mixture so that I could feed him, and he went back to sleep. He did. Had I gotten enough sleep that I thought I could get through the day? AND keep my sanity? Yes, I thought. So with both of my boys sleeping soundly, I crept into our living room, turned on a workout video, and started sweating. Sometimes I felt I was at my max!! It was hard. I couldn’t keep up with all of the steps. I couldn’t hold the poses long enough. Sometimes I found myself thinking, “That’s good enough.” and I would come out of the pose before the counting was over. Yet I pushed myself forward. I remembered words from a coach during cross country training in high school. Something of a poem that stated, “Good enough is neither.” Although I couldn’t remember the rest of the words, I remembered the gist. Keep going. Good enough really isn’t good OR enough. Keep pushing. That’s what it takes sometimes. When you tell yourself “That’s good enough” you may really be short-changing yourself.

STOP!

That was SO hard! I realize now how much I edit my thoughts and think about each and every word when I take the time to write. (And from the quality of what I turned out in those five minutes, you’re probably thinking, “Thank goodness!” Ha!) 🙂 Truth be told, it usually takes me at least an hour to write one blog post. Five minutes of free-writing without having time to stop and think about what I’m going to say or to go back and edit (like I am doing now), is much more difficult than I imagined! Give it a try, whether you have a blog to post it to or not. I can definitely say that I would like to link up and give it another go next Friday as well. Hopefully, it will get a bit easier to be so free!

Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

10 Comments on “Five Minute Friday”

  1. Linda says:

    Thank you for the push to be more. Have a great day!

  2. LOVE it. I cherished the writing prompts and assignments throughout my schooling career too. It excites me, the diving board hovering into deep possibility. So happy you joined up! I headed straight here from the link-up. Thankful I did. Great take on ‘enough’. 🙂

    • I read your Five Minute Friday post after I had submitted my own, and I have to say that I was so impressed with your take on “enough.” It had such great flow and rhythm and a beautiful message. My thoughts were all over the place, and I hope that this prompt will help me get better! I’ve been so out of practice with writing until I started Close Families. Hoping it only goes up from here! 🙂 It is definitely fun to link up with such great writers who are devoted in their faith. Can’t wait to see more great posts next week! Thanks for sharing!

  3. jerralea says:

    It’s so cool how everyone takes the word in a different direction. Your post made me think of Florence Littauer’s book, “It takes so Little to Be Above Average.” Same sort of idea. Don’t aim for “good enough.”

  4. I have spent more time trying to be perfect than anything else so when I learned the phrase ‘good enough’ it was a challenge in itself to quit the self-condemnation and accept ‘good enough’ rather than the unreachable perfection, however I also felt inspired by this post to push in areas where we feel we haven’t given our all to something we would benefit from if we did. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Here is the link-up for you to collect it
    http://innerangelsandenemies.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/very-inspiring-blogger-award-thanks-so-much/
    Blessings to you and thanks for such wonderful inspiration 🙂

    • Oh, so true!! It’s important to stay focused on what matters: family, faith, and self-care. Take care of those things first, then spend extra time (if we are so lucky to have any! Haha!) on other things that we enjoy, such as blogging! I’m so happy that you nominated me!! Absolute honor, especially when there are TONS of amazing blogs out there, including yours!! Thank you so much for the acknowledgment and compliment that accompanies this award. 🙂 You’re a lovely person.

      • Right back at you Dear Sister! I just love sharing blessings and time with all the wonderful bloggers I have met out there. I wish I could have nominated more really, as I am constantly inspired by so many in the blogosphere. Such special people you are…God is so awesome for bringing me in here to meet you all. 🙂

  5. […] Today’s topic: Beyond. I’m hoping my thoughts flow a bit more freely than they did last week… Letting go of the perfectionism is hard to […]


Leave a Reply

