My Fitness Inspirations

I am SORE today. Ow! You know that feeling where you rediscover muscles that you forgot were there, or perhaps you didn’t realize they were there in the first place? That’s the way I’m feeling today. Ow.

Okay, so enough of the whining. The truth is, I actually like that sore feeling after a good workout. It’s just a physical reminder that I worked my butt off yesterday with a strength and aerobic exercise. It’s been so hot here in the midwest (100+ temps for multiple days on end!) and with two children at home with me all day, it’s hard to find the time to start exercising again. However, I know how important exercise is and the countless benefits that it has for my body, so I came to the conclusion that I was never going to simply “find” this time, but I would have to MAKE the time to work out. I’m sometimes the person that needs a little bit of a push to get myself to work out, so I thought I would share some of my biggest inspirations that get me going!

  1. Myself. I know this sounds cheesy and perhaps selfish, but I care about my body. The way it feels. The way it looks. The way it functions. And I know that exercise benefits my body in all of those ways tremendously. So I have to be a bit selfish, taking those thirty minutes to an hour away from my family and other things that I could do with that time in order to benefit myself. No one else can do it for me!
  2. My family. My husband and my boys mean so much to me. I would just kick myself if years down the road, my choice to not exercise now had any effect on my health in the future. I want to stay fit, active, and healthy so that I can be involved in their lives for as long as possible.
  3. My mom. My mom was in her forties when she ran her first marathon. She has run two marathons, and a few half marathons, all past the age of 40. My whole life, I can remember her being active, whether she was running, biking, hiking, swimming, or doing aerobic and strength training workout videos; she was always on the go. Yesterday was my first time working out (besides a few short walks to the park and playing basketball or soccer with my son), and I happened to do it to my mom’s favorite video series: Gilad’s Bodies in Motion. I can remember being a young girl and working out with my mom to these videos, and thinking what a strong, tough woman she was to be able to keep up with Gilad! It may not be Insanity or P90X, but it’s certainly a good start to building up some muscle tone that I lost while pregnant, as my abs are aching a bit just from sitting up straight in our desk chair! (Yes, I know, I’m a bit of a wimp. I’ll get stronger!)
  4. Fitness blogs. One of my favorite fitness blogs is Kristen over at The Concrete Runner. I love following her adventures in running, strength training, and motherhood! She also has a love for delicious food (namely, desserts!) and I love her ability to balance that and stay so fit! She rocks!
  5. CFers. People who have cystic fibrosis need to keep an active lifestyle as part of their treatment plan. They run because it clears their lungs and helps to lengthen their lifespan. But it’s difficult. Like I said, I am a wimp when it comes to exercise, but when I am in good shape, I can pretty easily run a mile (or more) without even losing my breath. This is so much harder for CFers, but they do it anyway, because they know that without exercise, they are shortening their chance at life. It makes me feel a bit ashamed of myself to think that I have a perfectly healthy set of lungs, and I barely push them past their capacity to go up and down a flight of stairs.

With so much inspiration, I can tell you one thing. I’m getting my butt into gear, and I’m not just going to exercise to lose the “baby fat” (although that’s definitely on my mind!), but I really want to push myself. I want to feel my lungs burn. I want to feel those muscles ache. I want to feel like I’m going to die after a good workout, which is all really just my body telling me how very alive I am.

No excuses.

5 Comments on “My Fitness Inspirations”

  1. Great article. As I get older all those aches and pains after a good workout always me feel more alive (and dare I say, younger) each time. Keep it up you are an inspiration.

  2. Good for you! I think it is great that you are making time for something that is important to you and good for you. Nothing cheesy or selfish about that at all.
    Enjoy the coming aches and pains.

  3. […] I was struggling with post-partum depression, I tried getting myself organized. I tried exercising. I tried eating better. But my mind wasn’t in the right place. It didn’t stick. And […]


Leave a Reply

