Feel Good Friday

A few weeks ago, I was going through some post-partum depression. Some of it had to do with my son’s diagnosis, but I think the main culprit was those post-pregnancy and/or breast feeding hormone adjustment. To be honest, I didn’t even realize I was really feeling so down until I felt “up” again. It really wasn’t until my husband noticed I was feeling better and made a comment that he had been worried about me, that it really shed the light on how sad I had been feeling. In hind sight, I realized that I had been more reserved, less motivated, less silly… less the happy little wife and mother that I truly am. I’m still not sure what went sour, nor when or how it went away. But now that I have recognized that sort of mood as a mild depression (in my unprofessional opinion), I can also recognize when I start to feel that way again and do something about it.

I’m unsure whether it’s the gloomy weather today, the trying attitude of my five-year-old (imagine eye-rolling, mocking, back-talking… we’ve had a few privileges taken away and several timeouts recently!), or just the ups and downs of being a mom of an infant with a chronic illness, but I am feeling a little bit funky again. I believe in positive energy and that an optimistic attitude can cure any mood. And to add an extra oomph of happy in my day, I want to share with you a couple of songs to which I simply can not feel bad while listening. I also can’t help but to sing and dance! If something has you down today, please join me on this “Feel Good Friday” by watching these YouTube videos! If something has you down, just don’t let it keep you down for long. Have a great weekend!

 

What are some things that help you to feel good when you’re down?

One Comment on “Feel Good Friday”

  1. […] I was struggling with post-partum depression, I tried getting myself organized. I tried exercising. I tried eating better. But my mind […]


Leave a Reply

