Oh, The Places You’ll Go! (Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!)

We celebrated Dr. Seuss’s birthday at our preschool today. The children made “Cat in the Hat” hats and had a parade around the school while getting their pictures taken by our director. They sang “Happy Birthday to Dr. Seuss,” and they ate green eggs and ham for lunch! (My son apparently would not, could not try the green eggs, because they “smelled gross.” Oh well!) They all looked so cute! My classroom of infants was sleeping through the festivities… Still a cute sight. At home, we celebrated by watching Horton Hears a Who for a family movie night. The last time we all watched that movie together was when we first bought our house a year and a half ago, and we all slept in the dining room on an inflatable mattress with a portable DVD player. It definitely brought back memories and made me think of how far we’ve come as a family since then… and how grateful I am for real furniture!

My favorite book from Dr. Seuss is without a doubt Oh, the Places You’ll Go! That book is filled with Seuss’s imagination in the words and illustrations on every page, and it has such a heart-warming message to send to little ones. I received the book as a high school graduation gift from my mom’s best friend, and I get a little teary-eyed every time I read it to my son. It sums up the expectations I have for him in life: that he will have freedom and success, but not without frustrations, setbacks, and mistakes.

“You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes
You can steer yourself
any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.
And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

“And will you succeed?
Yes! You will, indeed!
(98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed.)
KID, YOU’LL MOVE MOUNTAINS!”

I love this book so much that we have decided that this is going to be the theme of our baby’s nursery! The nursery is actually a loft at the top of our staircase, and once he is sleeping through the night, the boys will share the upstairs bedroom, and the loft will become a playroom. “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!” will be a great theme for both functions of the room! Here are some of my inspirations for the space:

 

Crib and Bedding

I need to find a great pastel-colored map to frame like this!

For baby's name to hang above the crib.

I can’t wait to get started! Have a happy weekend!


2 Comments on “Oh, The Places You’ll Go! (Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!)”

  1. Christine says:

    I love the ideas for the nursery. So cute your son thought the green eggs were gross…sounds like something my daughter would say;) Great post as usual!!


Leave a comment