Making the Time

Whether we work full-time, part-time, or stay-at-home…

Whether we’re married, divorced, or single…

Whether we have a million other obligations in this world or not, our top priority has to be our children.

When I come home from work, there is dinner to be made, cleaning (an endless amount of laundry and dishes!) to be done, bills to be paid, a dog and a cat to be taken care of, preparations to be made for the following day, and–especially in my current pregnant condition–some much-needed daily relaxation time. But there is also a husband to connect with, and a five-year-old son who loves me, has missed me all day, and has looked forward to the few short hours at home with myself and his father before his (dreaded!) bedtime.  I think we can all see what my top priority has to be in that list of daily responsibilities. By putting my child first, I am showing him that I reciprocate his love, and that he is deserving of my time. What a confidence booster! That’s when true self-esteem building occurs for our children, and it’s one of the best tools in life that we can give our children, just by taking the time for them.

Here is a great article that I found on Parenthood.com on why making the time to play with your children is so important:

http://m.parenthood.com/article/detail.php?article=3339

While I encourage you to read the entire article, I know that your time is precious, and so I will give you some of my favorite  highlights:

  • Through play, we can enter the world as our children see it, allowing us to strengthen our bond and learn about their views of the world around them. By knowing what’s going on in their life (because it will come out during play!), we can help them sort things out and to develop critical problem-solving tactics.
  • By playing with our children, we help them to master social and cooperative skills, help them to regulate their mood and behavior, and become more creative problem-solvers.
  • Find time each day to play with your children. Whether it’s for 20 minutes, 30 minutes, or more as your other responsibilities allow, it’s more about the quality of time versus quantity. Just make sure that your child gets to decide what you play (so that you can show you’re interested in what he or she likes!), and give your child 100% of your attention for that amount of time. No phones, computer, TV, or any other distractions, so that you’re child knows that they have your undivided attention, because they are worth it.
My husband and I both make the time every day to talk to, play with, read to, and just overall be involved in our son’s life. Even if life gets busy, and my To Do list keeps growing and growing, I will always choose to make time for my children.

…And connecting with my husband can always occur after our son’s 8pm bedtime. 🙂

7 Comments on “Making the Time”

  1. Christine says:

    What a great post! I always try to make time with my 2 1/2 daughter among the chaos of life! I love how you said connecting with your husband can occur after 8 pm! Ha!

  2. Talk is cheap – not at ALL! I enjoy talking with my children but there are times when I feel so busy I have to remind myself of the priority. It sounds like I’m not the only one.

  3. muddledmom says:

    I agree! My husband and I were just talking the other night about how we make so much time for family time and whether it was too much, but we both decided that we just really enjoy it (most nights!). After dinner is family time. Homework is done and we play for an hour together, outside or inside. I don’t think it’s too much. I don’t consider it hyper parenting. I don’t coddle them and do everything for them. But I like spending time with them as people. I had a family for a reason!

    • We have debated that too! We don’t want to “spoil” our children or make them dependent on us for entertainment, but the way we figured is that you don’t spoil your child by spending quality time with them. When children feel secure about their relationship with their parents, it actually makes them feel safer and are MORE likely to be independent!

  4. Well said! I don’t ever want to look back and wish I’d taken more time to connect with my son. It’s about taking the time now to help him become an adult that I (and hopefully others) want to be around.

  5. […] and parenting magazines, in search for the great classics of parenting, such as the importance of good ol’ quality time, or the more modern reading materials that support attachment parenting and […]


Leave a Reply

