Back to School… And Back to Work

Today I signed an official employment offer letter. Not only am I going back into the workplace after over a year as a stay-at-home mom, but I’m making a career change. Instead of working with young children as a preschool teacher, I will be working with my state’s youthful offenders. Teens. Pre-teens.

I’m feeling so many different emotions after making this decision:
-Excitement at starting a new career.
-Optimistic about rehabilitating youth in trouble.
-Anxious to learn and train for my new position.
-Sad to see my long days and evenings end with my boys and husband.
-Worrisome about my toddler starting preschool for the first time.
-Happy for my oldest son beginning a new school year in first grade.
-Grateful for the opportunity to help others.
-Ambitious to become a provider for our family again.

My current life goal: to enjoy the remaining days of summer with my family.

My current blogging goal: to expand my topics to include posts about balancing work and family.

I hope you will continue to follow me along this exciting new path.

**Check out my blogging friend, Nate, who is bravely returning to work again after 17 years at home. You can find her story at insanityofmotherhood.com

7 Comments on “Back to School… And Back to Work”

  1. muddledmom says:

    Sounds like a wonderful new adventure. Congrats! Looking forward to reading about the new job and transition.

  2. Good luck with the new job. It’s an interesting change. I hope you can make a difference.

  3. Congratulations Laura! I wish you good luck with your new job, you will do great I’m sure! :-)

  4. hey, nice post and all the best for new job. career change sounds excitingly interesting:)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers